Gyeonggi Province-History of

LINKS: ....Korean Stars Image gallery. Stars Video Archives. Photo Puzzles of Korean Stars. Video Guide to Korea. Beautiful Korean Autum Season Photos. Traditional Clothes. Traditional House & Architecture. Traditional Dancing. Mountains. Foods. Korean Celebrities.... Art.. Music.. Society.. Future

Gyeonggi Province-History of

Gyeonggi province was formed as a tribal nation during the Old Stone Age along the Han river, which cuts across the waist of the Korean peninsula.

B.C. 75 Upon division of the Jin nation into three nations, it became the territory of Mahan & Jinhan, which had influence as far as the southern Han river. Politically, it was under a confederate state ruled by King Jin of Weolji.

B.C. 18 The region was part of Baekjae territory for 400 years after the founder of Baekjae, King Onjow established it as the seat of government.

A.D. 405 On an expedition against Baekjae, Great King Kwangaetoe, 19th king of Gokuryo, destroyed a naval force at Daebang (Gyeonggi & Hwanghae), seized the western sea route and continued to advance south to occupy the regions of Imjin and the Han River. It was a region of conflict of interest between two nations until Shilla unified the three nations.

757 In the 16th year of his reign, King Kyeungduk, the 35th king of Shilla imitated the Tang nation's administrative system and implemented a 9-state system nationwide under Hanju. In the reign of the 6th King Seungjong of Goryeo, a 10-province system was enforced.

1029 In the 8th year of the reign of King Hyunjeong of Goryeo, the region was renamed Yangkang Province. Kaesung and 13 Hyeon near the region fell under central jurisdiction and were called Gyeonggi Province. In the 34th year of the reign of King of Gongyang of Goryeo, the region was divided into Gyeonggi-Right Province and

1402 The 3rd King Taejeong of Joseon implemented an 8-province system. The vicinity of the metropolis of Seoul was called Hansung-Bu and was under central jurisdiction.

1895.5.26 The 8-province system was abolished and a 23-sub-region system implemented, thereby establishing three Bu: Hansung, Incheon, and Kaesung.

1896.8.4 With the implementation of a 13-province system, Gyeonggi Province was restored. (3 Bu, 34 Gun)

1910 The provincial government was moved from Suwon to Gyeongung-bu (the old name for Seoul). Hansung-bu, which was centrally administered, was renamed Gyeongsung-bu and incorporated into Gyeonggi-do after the Japanese annexation of Korea.

1945.8.15 8.15 Independence.

1960s The Provincial Government Building moved (Seoul-Suwon current location)

1970s 6 Cities 4 Gu 18 Gun 14 Eup 180 Myun

1980s Changed the Administrative Jurisdiction to 18 City 18 Gun 30 Eup 155Myun

1990s Administrative jurisdiction changed to 23 Cities and 8 Gun

2000 year Part of Sanro-Ri, Ohji-Ri in Dongsong-Eup, Chulwon-Gun, Gangwon Province became Pochun-Eup, Pochun-Gun, Gyeonggi Province under boundary settlement. Part of Dandong-Ri, in Gwanin-Eup, Gyeonggi Province became Chulwon-Gun, Gangwon Province under boundary settlement.

2001 year Elevation of Hwasung-Gun to Hwasung City, and Gwangju-Gun to Gwangju City (25 Cities, 6 Gun)

2002.4.1 Division of Jungwang 1,2-dong to Jungwang 1,2,3,4-dong by the ordinance No.694 of Siheung City(promulgated in 2nd, March, 2002)
Raising of status from Gyoha-Myeon to Gyoha-Eup, Jori-Myeon to Jori-Eup by the ordinance No.435 of Paju City

2002.11.1 Establishment of Sangrok-gu and Danwon-gu by ordinance No.1027 of Ansan city (promulgated in 1st, October, 2002)

2002.11.5 Raising of status from Anjung-myeon to Anjung-Eup by the ordinance No.585 of Pyungtaek City (promulgated in 5th, November, 2002)

2003.7.14 Ujeong-myeon was upgraded to Ujeong-eup in accordance with the City of Hwaseong Municipal Ordinance No.235 (dated June 4, 2003)

2003.10.19 Pocheon-gun and Yangju-gun were upgraded to Pocheon-city and Yangju-city, respectively, in accordance with the Law No.6928 (promulgated on July 18, 2003). (Thus, there were now 27 cities, four guns and 15 districts (gus) in Gyeonggi Province.)

2003.11.24 Yeongtong-gu was newly established in Suwon in accordance with the City of Suwon Municipal Ordinance No.2456 (promulgated on November 8, 2003).(Thus, there were now 27 cities, four guns and 16 districts (gus) in Gyeonggi Province.)

2004.1.2 Tongjin-myeon was upgraded to Tongjin-eup in accordance with the City of Gimpo Municipal Ordinance No.468 (promulgated on December 30, 2003).

2004.7.21 Chowol-myeon and Silchon-myeon were upgraded to Chowol-eup and Silchon-eup in accordance with the City of Gwangju Municipal Ordinance No.106 (promulgated on June 7, 2004).

2004.12.1 The name Oeseo-myeon was changed into Cheongpyeong-myeon in accordance with the Gapyeong-Gun Municipal Ordinance No.1818 (promulgated on November 25, 2004).


LINKS: ....Brain Foods ....World Travel Info ....Information Highway